Posted by: thehungryrunner | February 4, 2008

Chicken Noodle Soup: Sorry, there is still only one!

Having been laid up last week with what had to be the worst flu I’ve ever experienced, suffice it to say I’ve had more chicken noodle soup over the last seven days than I’d had in the last year.  I’ve also become quite the connoisieur of Jell-O (I vote for raspberry), popsicles (whatever is the “blue” flavor), and tea (any, as long as it’s hot).  And I’m embarrassed to admit, I probably drank more diet 7-up and Sierra Mist Free than I did water.  No, I take that back.  Still had plenty of water.  But it was probably a close race!

Still, chicken noodle soup was the front-center player in helping me nourish my body back from what I called my Frankenstein flu (I have never had such bad muscle/joint pains with the flu!).  And my dear, loving husband, ever the attentive nurse, stockpiled our cupboards with just about every brand/version of chicken noodle soup our grocery store carries, ensuring I need not become bored with my temporary mono-diet.  And truth be told, it was nice for the opportunity to experiment.  These aren’t soups I’m normally inclined to pick up, so why not use this chance to try them on for size?  You never know!

But alas, despite my wild and fascinating exploration, I have to fess up to my conclusion:  there is only one chicken noodle soup, and that is good ol’ fashioned Campbell’s.  It’s the noodles.  Other brands’ noodles are more sparse, short, rubbery, and chewier than I would want.  Sure, I like chopped carrots and celery in my soup, which is why a part of me really *hoped* I’d like these other, “grown up” soups more.  But you can’t deny the undeniable.  I find there is just no substitute for that immediately recognizable fragrance, the comfort of easing into it by sipping away at the broth (be it the regular or the 25% less sodium one — both are good) until there’s mostly just chicken and those wonderful, soothing noodles at the bottom of the bowl, then happily spooning them up like a bed-headed kid who’s only concern is to momentarily forget how much her throat is burning.  Because at that moment, that’s all I am!  Those noodles slip down easily and nurture the tummy (not the stomach…the tummy) better than any homeopathic cure I’ve tried!

Honestly, it’s nice to know that amidst the explosion of modern information, uber-technology, new-fangled fixes, state-of-the-art medical treatments and sophisticated nutritional therapies, there are some humble, tried-and-true home remedies that remain in their rightful throne!

Leave a Reply

Categories

