Posted by: thehungryrunner | May 3, 2008

When “I’ll just do a few minutes” turns into a fantastic run

If there’s any one lesson that seems to repeat itself often, it’s the paradox of allowing yourself the option of just doing a few minutes’ worth of exercise, or at least to give yourself permission to keep it very light if need be, only to have it turn into one of the best — read: high-energy, intense — workouts you’ve had in a while. Granted, some times it turns out to be just that: a light workout, nothing more, nothing less. But more often than not, those are the outings in which those first few, tentative minutes turn into a, “Hey, that actually felt pretty good, better than I thought. Maybe I’ll try just a few more….” and suddenly you’ve run a half a mile, then suddenly you’re setting a possible goal of 3-4 laps around the lake, then suddenly you’re saying, “Hey, I’ve made it this far, may as well do the full half hour,” then *THAT* becomes the “Well…okay 45 minutes? Dare I hope?” and suddenly you know you’ll be able to do the one hour, which is what you wanted to do in the first place, only felt a bit “off” or sluggish for such a goal that day. But that’s just what happened the other day to me, and suffice it to say, I was riding quite high as a result! In fact I then did my planned strength training session and had plenty of energy left over. This after having skipped dinner the night before (stomach ache of unknown origin) and not getting enough sleep, which is why I had reassured myself that if I needed to switch out my 1-hour run with a walk instead (with a 3-4 minute jog in the beginning just “to get the blood flowing”), I would do so. Just goes to show you don’t know what you’re body will do until you get out there and do it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

