Posted by: thehungryrunner | June 22, 2008

The World’s Easiest Smoothie Recipe

SmoothieI must confess; I read cookbooks and recipes with great interest, and I do put some to good use.  But by and large, in my everyday life, I have not yet mastered the patience to take a great deal of time with food prep, particularly when I’m hungry, even though I’m well aware that when I do, I actually enjoy the meal more, as the rhythm of chopping and stirring and mixing has a very soothing effect on me.

But for now, a great deal of the time I still opt for the shortcuts.  I’ll throw some steam-in-bag frozen vegetables in the microwave, pull out the grill pan to cook up some Boca Burgers, and slice a large apple, sprinkled with cinnamon, more often than I’ll make my favorite healthy risotto recipe.

Which is why, as much as I love the many great smoothie recipes I have used over the years, I find I’m most likely to follow through with making one for myself if I keep it ridiculously simple.  Sure, I’ll still make the occasional “Everything But the Kitchen Sink” smoothie (it turns out peanut butter and dates blend wickedly well with vanilla whey protein powder, Greek Yogurt, fresh pineapple, mango and almond milk), but the vast majority of the time, my schedule and taste buds (and…truth be told…waistline) do quite well with something much tamer but no less tasty.

So without further ado, here it is, the Instructions and recipe for the World’s Easiest Smoothie:

In a blender…

  • Start out with a little fruit juice, maybe 1/2 cup or so.  I like orange juice.
  • Add 1/2 cup of any frozen fruit, and blend until the texture of the juice and fruit is smooth.  Nowadays, the possibilities are literally endless:  you can buy blends or single frozen fruits, such as peach, cherries, melon, mango, pineapple, blueberries, and on and on.
  • Add a little additional water or juice if needed.
  • Add one optional extra:  This could be anything, from a half a banana to more frozen fruit (and juice/water as needed), or a spoonful of nut butter (I like cashew) or a scoop of protein powder, a half cup of flavored yogurt, or even a handful of raw almonds.  Blend until desired consistency is achieved.
  • Enjoy immediately!
Leave a Reply

Categories

