Posted by: thehungryrunner | September 26, 2008

The World’s Easiest Applesauce, and 5 Great Ways to Eat It!

There are two essentials that must be part of my annual autumn experience.

Together at last!

Apples and Autumn: Together at last!

One is listening to music by the late Vince Guaraldi — better known as the “Charlie Brown music guy.”  The other are my apples.  Is it possible to have an Apple Addiction?  If so, my name is Evamarie (but you can call me Eve, heh), and I’m addicted to apples.  All apples.  There are times when I have over 7 varieties vying for space in my refrigerator at the same time.  My favorites?  Honeycrisp and Fuji.  Oh yes, and Pink Lady.  Okay, and Golden Delicious.  And do Asian Apple Pears count?  Well you get the idea.  If it’s an apple, it has my attention.

And while my preferred mode of apple consumption will always be the good ol’ reliable slice-n-eat, sometimes I crave the warm, comfort-food sweetness of a bowl of homemade applesauce, a treat that immediately recalls images of my Grandma cooking down apples on the stove, the cinnamon-tinged aroma wafting throughout the house.  And thankfully, this is one family delight that is also extremely healthy in its original recipe form — no modifying needed!  Best of all, it’s as simple as simple gets.

So for the recipe, take out a large sauce pan, wash up some apples, slice them in roughly the same size pieces (I prefer long and relatively flat), and place them in the pot, followed by a generous sprinkling of cinnamon.  Top the pot with its lid, and place on a low/medium heat.  That’s it!  As the apples cook, they’ll give off enough liquid that you shouldn’t need to add any outside water.  If you do, definitely no more than a spoonful or so, if you’re concerned about burning or scorching the apples.  Oh yes, and stir often, too cook evenly and avoid burning.  Cook the apples until they reach the desired consistency.  For me, that’s one step away from baby-food soft, but you might prefer a slighly firmer consistency sauce.  Serve and eat while hot (but be careful, when I say hot I mean they’ll be HOT).

Delicious, all by itself.

BUT…..just because something is delicious all by itself, doesn’t mean we can’t use its deliciousness to heighten the enjoyment of other foods, yes?  So, in no particular order, here are 5 “proven” uses for fresh, tasty homemade applesauce:

  • Use it as a (hot) topping for low-fat frozen yogurt or ice cream.  Vanilla is great, as is butter pecan.  But at this time of the year?  Pumpkin gets my vote!  Two great tastes that taste mmmmmmmm together!
  • Top graham crackers with chilled applesauce.  Like homemade apple pie, only without the fat,  blood sugar rush, and let’s face it, the time and effort needed to make it!
  • Try this yogurt parfait:  Layer chilled applesauce, vanilla or (of course) apple cinnamon yogurt, and crumbled pieces of (what else?) cinnamon apple rice cakes in a tall glass.  Or….if your feeling adventuresome and are looking for a little more decadence, use fat-free Cool Whip in place of the yogurt.
  • For a twist on the ubiquitous Caramel Apple with Peanuts, spread a caramel-flavored rice cake with crunchy peanut butter, and top with your homemade applesauce.  Serve open-faced with a cup of your favorite tea (apple cinnamon, maybe?).
  • Think low-carb wraps were meant only for savory ingredients?  Nothing doing!  Spread a low-carb tortilla with reduced fat cream cheese.  Top with homemade applesauce (cold or warm), and (optional) a tiny drizzle of honey.  Fold in the sides of the tortilla, and carefully roll the rest up.  Great for a breakfast on the go or a light yet filling dessert!

All I can say is (and you know I had to say it)……How about them apples?

Responses

  1. Ok, you did it now. I’m going to have an apple for my night snack. We have some great Golden Delicious ones in the fridge right now. My favorite is Pink Lady and we get them all straight from the orchards in my brother-in-law’s kibbutz. Now, if only they went organic…


Leave a Reply

Categories

