Posted by: thehungryrunner | March 2, 2009

Skiing with Raynaud’s Disease, Part 2: So what happened, anyway?

Well I was hoping to post this update a bit sooner, but better late than never!

My tone probably sounded quite bleak last weekend, but the great news is, despite the cold we went skiing anyway — and my hands and feet did just fine!  Score one for the Raynaud’s warrior!

It was a good lesson in how much attitude and preparedness can make a huge difference.  Knowing what I was up against, I left nothing to chance and dressed in even more layers than I normally wear.  I also chose my warmest ski pants.  No cutesy “boot-leg-hip” legs for this outing; it was all function over form.  Just making the decision to give it an earnest go was energizing; I was now on a mission!  I wonder if that played a role in the success of the day.

And while it wasn’t a record-long ski outing, it took 2 hours of being outside, skiing and riding the chairlift in a stiff wind, with temps in the upper teens/near 20, before I even felt remotely in need of retreating inside, and even then it was more just a casual, “don’t really need to but may as well” reprieve.  And when it was time to leave, it was more due to familial/schedule obligations, not one of urgency to get out of my boots and into a warm car.  In fact, I could have easily continued for quite a while longer.  Believe me, for a Raynaud’s sufferer, this was a huge victory!

So….I was given a great reminder that all hope is not lost even when you’re facing conditions that were your undoing in the past.  Once again, “stick to the plans” won out over “cowtowing to the weather.”  Life is good!

Responses

  1. Glad you had a good time!

  2. This is a good reminder that when you really want to do something, you forego the appearances and make it work. The layers, the mittens, the boots, the works. Preparation is essential, as is taking the time to slow down and mentally prepare yourself. You obviously enjoy skiing, and there’s no reason why you can’t ski AND stay warm, as long as the temp remains above Zero. Good for you for your perserverance!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

