Posted by: thehungryrunner | June 25, 2009

Running in a crock pot!

I had an “Uh-oh, I think I’m in trouble” realization recently, when I was out on a run on a 78 degree day, thinking it felt mighty hot.  If I think that’s hot….how am I going to feel when it’s in the 90’s or more?

Well I got my answer this past Tuesday, and if all goes as planned I will have a follow-up answer today.  Total. Body. Meltdown.  My strategy was to orient my run according to the location of a) my house, b) the neighborhood water fountains, and c) the neighborhood pool/community center, which is both air-conditioned and has a water fountain inside.  My thought was, if I keep myself within a reasonable proximity of these three things, I should be okay.  I also carried a small bottle of water.

Suffice it to say, I needed that fountain and that community center — early and often.  I did manage to get a decent-ish run (though I think I redefined the word “slow”), but holy smoke, that wasn’t easy!  More than the fatigue near the end, it was the low-level nausea of being so hot and sweating so profusely.

But I must say, I will still take the heat any day to the extreme cold.  At least I don’t have to worry about my digits losing their circulation before I can dash to the nearest heated building!

Responses

  1. I can’t fathom how all you Easterners and Midwesterners can run in the heat and humidity! Coming from the West, humid is like 35%! When I’m back there, I start panting just going from my car to an air conditioned building!


Leave a Reply

Categories

