Posted by: thehungryrunner | August 19, 2009

Surfing pics from my IDEA World Fitness Conference in Anaheim

I’m back from my annual fitness conference, and Holy Gym Shoes, Batman, have I got news and information for you!  Everything from female pelvic training (I guess we women tend to have a tendency towards instability in and around our hips) to using hula dance for cardio to self myofascial massage using tennis balls (you have no idea!)….the list goes on and on.  I think I’m going to have to dole it out slowly, as there’s so much and I’m only now beginning to plow through my notes.

So let’s start out with something fun:  surfing.  One of the options with the conference was to sign up for various “outside the walls” outings, including surfing at Huntington Beach (which I’m told is the OFFICIAL “Surf City USA” spot; yes, referring to the Jan and Dean song from the 60’s!).  The surf outing was preceded by a “Dry Land Conditioning for Surfing” seminar the day before, which was extremely helpful and useful for the task.  And it was a great workout!  I can see how you don’t need to have any aspirations to ride the waves in order to benefit from the core, leg and shoulder work provided by the routine.

So here are some pics, courtesy of the blog up at the IDEA World Convention website.  By the way, I’m the one next to a yellow surfboard, with the long ponytail.  Where I am in the water pics, even I don’t know!

PS:  For the record, I did manage to stand up — three times, in fact.  Yay!  But the rest of the time?  “Flailing in the spin cycle” would be the better description of me.  Better luck next time!

Enjoy:

Surfers on the beach

Surfers on the beach

Same Surfers on the Beach

Same Surfers on the Beach

 

Surf drill:  Practicing "pop ups"

Surf drill: Practicing "pop ups"

Surf drill:  Practicing the fine art of paddling

Surf drill: Practicing the fine art of paddling

Waves and (sort of) surfers

Waves and (sort of) surfers

Surfers trying (hard!) to negotiate the waves

Surfers trying (hard!) to negotiate the waves

Ah, the sweet feeling of surf success!

Ah, the sweet feeling of surf success!

 

 
Responses

  1. Very cool! That’s just down the street from where I live! I moved down here in college to take advantage of the surf. Used to surf almost daily!

  2. Well then….I’m jealous of you! You don’t by chance need a live-in flexibility coach, do you? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

