Posted by: thehungryrunner | September 11, 2009

Time for a “Stretch Snack”!

Oh no, I don’t mean me.  Well, yes, I do mean me, but I also mean YOU!  Let me guess.  You’re probably sitting down right now.  You’re probably feeling some stress from the day.  I’ll also bet that if asked, you can name at least one part of your body that feels either a) stiff, b) fatigued, or c) tense.  Maybe you’re also feeling fidgety, or bored, or even hungry, even though you have plenty yet to do and it’s not time for a meal at the moment.

Ah HAH!  If you’ve answered in the affirmative to any of the above, YOU would probably do well with a snack!  But not the kind with high fructose corn syrup, or caffeine, or even 100% of your daily vitamin C requirements.  No, I’m suggesting you stop right now, stand up from your chair, and take the next 2 minutes to stretch.  Any stretch will do (provided your doc says OK, your doc DOES say OK, right???).  The main goal here is to relieve some tension, clear your mind, take a few deep breaths and get a wee bit of circulation going.  Go ahead, I’ll wait for you!  In fact, I’ll go and stretch as well.  Ready?  Go!

Now.  Doesn’t that feel SO much better?  Did you end up using slightly more than 2 minutes?  Isn’t it great when that happens?  So what stretch(es) did you do?  I managed to squeeze in a chest stretch (hands clasped behind back), a forward bend with my hands on the chair seat, and a side stretch with my foot resting on the chair.  Talk about instant  energy!

Best of all, this is the one snack for which you’re encouraged — if not urged — to go ahead and indulge in second, third, or even fourth helpings!  Hmmm.  Think I might take a nibble on that chair-based seated low back twist…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

