Posted by: thehungryrunner | July 4, 2010

Just when you think you’re humble: My runner’s ego moment

Oh, the source of amusement the ego can be.  I was out for a light run yesterday in my neighborhood.  Given I’d be running my annual July 4th (now July 3rd) 10K the next day (if you’re keeping track, that would be today), I reluctantly forced myself to confine the run to 4 miles only.  Yeah, yeah, I know, not supposed to run at all — 4 miles or otherwise — the day before a race.  I don’t seem to be following that rule very well lately.  What can I say, with weather this nice, it’s hard not to seize every sunshiney opportunity!

Anyway, so at the 4-mile mark I dutifully put the brakes on, electing to walk the remaining distance back to my house.  About a minute or two after slowing down to my walk, I came upon a house in which there were two men working on some project in the front yard.  We all smiled at each other and exchanged greetings as I passed by.  After a friendly “Hello!” the one man said, “Nice day for a walk, isn’t it?”  To which I cheerfully responded, about a nanosecond later than I might normally have answered, “It sure is!”

That’s what I said.  But you know that nanosecond delay?  I’m sad to confess, its cause was my brain momentarily thinking, “Oh but I’m not really out for a walk.  That’s just my cool-down.  Just back there I was RUNNING.”  What a nerd!  Like it mattered and like he would have cared.  All I can say is, thank goodness I had the good sense to keep that nanosecond thought to myself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

