Posted by: thehungryrunner | July 12, 2010

New recipe: My “Low-cal Smoothie Sundae” — Creamy, refreshing and healthy (hooray)!

As many of you know, one of the ways I decompress from a busy day running The Flexibility Coach is through recipe experimentation.  And wowee, have I hit the jackpot with my latest discovery!  I’ve been turning to the blender more and more lately, what with the hot weather these days, and it never ceases to amaze me how frozen fruit and fat-free yogurt can manage to be transformed to something a Tastee Freez only WISHES it was.  Throw in the option of various nut butters, whey protein powder, honey or oats, and it’s clear there will never be a shortage of delicious combinations for my “smoothie laboratory.”

But my favorite creation of recent is hands-down my Low-cal Smoothie Sundae.  It’s the bomb!  I’m a texture person; I love foods that offer a combination of, say, thick and creamy, with some crunch, with some sweet drizzle mixed in.  And that’s just what I get  with this sundae.  Behold:

Evamarie’s Low-cal Smoothie Sundae

  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 2 (6-oz.) containers of vanilla, coconut or banana-flavored fat-free yogurt
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries OR frozen black cherries
  • One or two 100-calorie packets of cocoa roasted almonds (or other 100-calorie packs, such as cookies)

In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave the blueberries or cherries until thawed; you’ll have warm berries and liquid juice.  Cool slightly.  Meanwhile, coarsely chop the cocoa-roast almonds.  If using 100-calorie-pack cookies instead, crush lightly into small pieces.  Set aside.  Cut the frozen banana into chunks, drop into the blender, and add the yogurt.  Blend until creamy; the consistency will be similar to soft-serve frozen yogurt (for me this takes about a minute).  Pour the thick mixture into 2 dessert bowls, top with the thawed berries and juice and sprinkle the almonds or crushed cookies on top.  Makes 2 servings, approximately 290 calories each.

Delicious!  The only catch is that it melts in a hurry, so you’ll want to serve and eat it right away.  Somehow, I don’t think this will be a problem. 🙂

Like this recipe?  Want to see more, plus tips on stretching and fitness?  Sign up for my free monthly e-letter today!

Leave a Reply

Categories

