Posted by: thehungryrunner | September 7, 2010

Banana-Cherry High-Protein Snack: Surprisingly tasty, even if definitely “Athlete Kibble”

I’m the first person to admit, I can be…..a bit….overly adventuresome (my husband would call it something else)…..on the subject of “sport recipes,” or what I like to call, “athlete kibble.”  Ever since I was a kid (3 years old, asking my dad to buy canned spinach, because after all, that’s what Popeye was eating), I’ve had this curiosity about everything from wheat germ to carrot juice, from whey protein to spirulina, and all the other foods that are acclaimed as pertinent players for the training table.  And once I took the plunge into participating in fitness competitions and running races, why, now I had an official reason to make use of these “superfoods” and see what they could do to one’s event performance!  So began my journey into being both kitchen chemist and culinary lab rat.  And over the years, my experiments with various concoctions (it’s hard to call them “recipes” when most of the ingredients are there to serve a purpose, as opposed to lend a flavor) has rendered a range of results, everthing from full-blown catastrophes to unexpected successes.

But in between those two extremes are those dishes that are a bit of a mixed bag:  they taste surprisingly good, they digest well, and they deliver terrific energy and sustained satiation.  But their their overall appearance and texture are definitely not their strong points, which means probably the only person who would enjoy (if that’s the right word) a helping for themselves is….another athlete, particularly one that’s either in an intensive training phase or one who’s preparing for a specific race or event (remember, ingredients with a purpose and all that).

So it’s with this category in mind that I share a mid-day snack I’ve been turning to lately, which meets all of the good points I’ve mentioned — tastes good, satisfies, gives good energy, digests well — yet probably isn’t the most photogenic of recipes.  So proceed ahead, but be aware of that caveat.

I call it my Banana-Cherry High-Protein Snack:

  • 1 cup low-fat cottage cheese
  • 1 6-oz. container light banana-flavored yogurt
  • 1 small scoop plain why protein powder
  • 1 small scoop plain rice protein powder (adds a thickening)
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries, microwaved to thaw
  • (optional) 1-2 packets “light” sweetener of your choice (I still use Sweet-n-Low…sorry)

In a large bowl, mix the cottage cheese, yogurt, and protein powders VERY WELL, to ensure there are no protein powder lumps.  If desired, add sweetener to taste.  Transfer the mixture to a pretty serving bowl, top with the thawed cherries and then the sliced banana.  Serve immediately.

Of course, you can also experiment with other yogurt flavors and fruit combinations.  I haven’t done so yet, but I imagine lemon yogurt, the banana, and some thawed frozon blueberries will be good.  Or you could add a little peanut butter.  Right now, I’m enjoying just the basic, simple version, but for sure I can see where it could be a good base upon which to build many new variations!

Give it a try and see what you think!

Responses

  1. […] High Protein Snacks – Google Blog Search by size8jeans […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

