Posted by: thehungryrunner | February 28, 2011

Strawberry Banana Cocoa-Almond Dessert

Strawberries and bananasLately I’ve been on a major fruit kick.  Well, that’s not so notable — I’m always on a fruit kick, really.  But more than even my usual, I’ve been experimenting with different combinations and recipes involving fresh fruit.  Maybe it’s my body’s way of combating the winter blahs:  when I partake of my daily fruit, it’s like a little taste of warmer, sunnier weather for me.

Whatever the motivation, here is one of the recipes I’d evolved, one that’s made enough repeat appearances as dessert that I figured I ought to share it:

Strawberry Banana Cocoa-Almond Dessert (Also makes a great breakfast dish!)

  • 2 cups fresh ripe strawberries, trimmed, hulled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup cocoa roast almonds, coarsely crushed
  • 2 ripe bananas, peeled and sliced into bite-size chunks
  • 1 container Greek 2% yogurt
  • 1 Tablespoon honey (orange blossom is particularly good)
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar-free or low-sugar orange marmalade

In a small bowl, combine the Greek yogurt and honey; stir lightly (does not have to be completely combined/blended).  In a separate bowl, combine the strawberries and bananas and toss gently to combine.  Add yogurt mixture and mix lightly to evenly coat the strawberry-banana mixture.  Spoon up half the mixture on each of two dessert-size plates, top each with a Tablespoon of orange marmalade and sprinkle each with about 2 Tablespoons of the cocoa-roast almonds.  Serve immediately; makes 2 generous servings.

Good protein, antioxidants galore, bone-building calcium, low in calories, filling….and tasty on top of all of that.  My kind of dessert!

Responses

  1. Yum! Sounds delicious.


Leave a Reply

Categories

